Meet the Commission

The Mississippi Access to Justice Commission is comprised of a diverse group of providers of civil legal assistance, business and community leaders, representatives of the three branches of state government, bar leaders, clergy, deans of the two Mississippi law schools, and members of the legal community. Current appointees are:

Voting Members   Ex-Officio Members  

Honorable Jacqueline Mask (Co-Chair)
Chancery Court Judge

  Deborah Bell
 Dean, University of Mississippi School of Law

Rodger Wilder (Co-Chair)
Balch & Bingham, LLP

  Sam Buchanan
Mississippi Center for Legal Services Corp.
Honorable Margaret Alfonso
County Court Judge
  Gayla Carpenter-Sanders
Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project
Alison Bryant Baker
Harrison County D.A.’s Office
  Ben Cole
North Mississippi Rural Legal Services
Honorable Dawn Beam
Mississippi Supreme Court
  Patti Gandy
Mission First Legal Aid Office
Jamie Bardwell
Springboard to Opportunities
  Jaribu Hill
Mississippi Workers Center for Human Rights
Representative David Baria 
Baria-Jones/MS State Legislature
  Beth Orlansky
Mississippi Center for Justice
Honorable Donna Barnes
Mississippi Court Appeals
  Jody Owens II
 Southern Poverty Law Center
Edderick “Beau” Cole
 Maron Marvel Bradley & Anderson LLC
  Joi Owens
 Disability Rights Mississippi 
La’Verne Edney
Baker Donelson
  Jennifer Riley-Collins
American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi
Faith Garbin
Jackson County Public Library
Mississippi College School of Law
Honorable Deborah Gambrell
 Chancery Court Judge
  Harry Yoste
Gulf Coast Women’s Center for Nonviolence/Northcutt Legal Clinic
Pastor Hosea Hines
 Christ Tabernacle Church
Honorable Leslie King
Mississippi Supreme Court
Michael L. Jones
United Health Group
Honorable Denise Owens
Chancery Court Judge
Representative Thomas Reynolds
Attorney at Law/MS State Legislature
Judge Lillie Blackmon Sanders
Circuit Court Judge
Dennis Smith
Ronnie Walton
Glover Young Walton & Simmons
 Blake Wilson
Mississippi Economic Council